Skip to main content

Education & Training Fellowship

Program Details

An important mission of the Clean Energy Institute (CEI) is expanding the STEM workforce, increasing research capacity, and improving public understanding of science.  CEI is has developed an RA position – The Clean Energy Education and Training Fellow (ETF) – to support its outreach and education programs in these areas. The ETF position is ideal for graduate students interested in teaching, outreach, and inspiring young people with STEM opportunities as well as students wishing to build a portfolio of broader impact accomplishments and science communication skills for a public audience.

The Clean Energy Education and Training Fellow (ETF) works closely with the CEI Associate Director of Education and Workforce Engagement and other ETFs to respond to public requests for outreach visits, arrange logistics, recruit CEI students for volunteers, and attend events. The ETF also helps develop outreach activities, displays, and curriculum that are distributed by the CEI and may provide enrichment tours for the CEI Research Experience for Undergraduate students and other Clean Energy Fellows. The ETF helps promote outreach efforts to audiences statewide and expand recruiting for the REU program.

The maximum time commitment for this position is 20 hours per week. Work schedule is flexible, though attendance at specific events during and outside of business hours is expected.

Selection Criteria & Process

PhD students with a demonstrated engagement and commitment to the broader mission of CEI and relevant experience with outreach are eligible to apply. Students should have a background in a science, engineering, or CEI-related field. ETFs will serve for a minimum of 2 quarters, preferably a year.

Applications for the 2023 – 2024 ETF position will be accepted on a rolling basis with priority given to those received by June 3.

2023-24 Education & Training Fellows

Previous ETFs

2022-23: Jacob Finney, Miguel Gonzalez, Ricardo Rivera

2021-22: Doris Hung, Mitchell Kaiser

2020-21: Maria Viitaniemi, Claire West

2019-20: Richard Lee

2018-19: Erin Jedlicka

2017-18: Brittany Bishop, Nick Montoni

2016-17: Gabriella Tosado, Katie Corp