Skip to main content

Leadership & Staff

Leadership & Staff

Daniel Schwartz

Daniel Schwartz

Director, Clean Energy Institute
Boeing-Sutter Professor of Chemical Engineering

Email | Website | LinkedIn

David S. Ginger

David Ginger

Chief Scientist, Clean Energy Institute
Alvin L. and Verla R. Kwiram Endowed Professor of Chemistry
Washington Research Foundation Distinguished Scholar

Email | Website | LinkedIn


J. Devin Mackenzie

J. Devin MacKenzie

Technical Director, Washington Clean Energy Testbeds
Washington Research Foundation Associate Professor of Clean Energy, Materials Science and Engineering, Mechanical Engineering

Email | Website | LinkedIn


Amanda McCracken

Collaboration Core Administrator


Suzanne Offen

Associate Director of Communications & External Relations | 206-685-6410

Danica Photo 1

Danica Hendrickson

Associate Director of Education & Workforce Engagement


Michael B. Pomfret, Ph.D.

Managing Director, Washington Clean Energy Testbeds | 206-685-6833

CEI Social Media Avatar Logo Only

Hilary Bullis

CEI Program Manager | 206-221-9263


Owen Freed

Communications Specialist | 206-221-6249


Corin Shelley-Reuss

Events & Communications Coordinator | 206-221-7145


Kristine Parra

Staff Scientist, Washington Clean Energy Testbeds | 206-221-3334

Faculty Advisory Board


Brandi Cossairt

Professor of Chemistry

Email | Website | LinkedIn


Daniel Gamelin

Harry and Catherine Jaynne Boand Endowed Professor of Chemistry

Email | Website

Daniel Kirschen, Close Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering.

Daniel Kirschen

Close Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering

Email | Website | LinkedIn


Christine Luscombe

Robert J. Campbell Associate Professor of Materials Science and Engineering

Email | Website | LinkedIn


Jim Pfaendtner

PI and Director of DIRECT
Jagjeet and Janice Bindra Endowed Career Development Professor
Associate Professor of Chemical Engineering

Email | Website | LinkedIn


Jerry Seidler

Professor of Physics

Email | Web site | LinkedIn


Xiaodong Xu

Assistant Professor of Physics and Materials Science & Engineering

Email | Website

Advisory & Tech Councils

CEI’s Advisory Councils include clean energy leaders from industry, government, and nonprofit organizations.

Tech Council
  • Craig Husa CEO, SuperCritical Technologies [Council Co-Chair]
  • Tess Williams, Ph.D. Co-Founder & Principal of Sound Grid Partners [Council Co-Chair]
  • David Benson Partner, K&L Gates
  • Susan Betcher Partner, Firmwide Co-Chair, Cleantech Industry Practice Group, Perkins Coie, LLP
  • Katy Briggs Global Service Area Leader, Renewables Advisory, DNV GL – Energy
  • Jeff Canin Board Member & Element 8 Fund Manager
  • Dave Curry Chairman & CEO, Demand Energy Networks, Inc
  • Michael Frank Vice President of Engineering & Design, McKinstry
  • Renee Gastineau Client Development Manager, Paladino
  • Volha Hrechka CEO & Founder, PolyDrop
  • Sean James Principal, Microsoft
  • Curt Kirkeby Technology Strategist, Avista Utilities
  • Kevin Klustner Executive Director, UW CAMCET
  • Rick Luebbe CEO, EnerG2
  • Daniel Malarkey Senior Fellow, Sightline Institute
  • Uzma Siddiqi Technology Principal Engineer, Seattle City Light
  • Ben Straughan Partner, Emerging Companies & Venture Capital, Perkins Coie, LLP
  • Lawrence Tsang Project Executive and VP of Strategy for Convergent Energy + Power
Advisory Council
  • Jack Faris Senior Counselor, APCO Worldwide [Council Co-Chair]
  • Susannah Malarkey Lecturer, UW Foster School of Business [Council Co-Chair]
  • Dan Caldwell Project Director, McKinstry
  • Denis Hayes President & CEO, Bullitt Foundation
  • Gwen Holdmann Director of the Alaska Power and Energy Center in Fairbanks
  • Alvin Kwiram Emeritus Professor of Chemistry and Former VP for Research, University of Washington
  • Ross Macfarlane Former Senior Advisor, Climate Solutions
  • Kirt Montague CEO, Plum Energy, LLC
  • Eileen Quigley Director, Clean Energy Transition Institute
  • Tom Ranken President & CEO, CleanTech Alliance
  • Gretchen Sorensen Principal, The Sorensen Group
  • Mark Torrance Founder, Mark Torrance Foundation, UW Foundation Board Member
  • Dr. Malin Young Deputy Director for Science and Technology, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory