CEI Education and Training Fellow

Part of the Clean Energy Institute’s mission is to create future innovators in clean energy by expanding the STEM workforce, increasing research capacity, and improving public understanding of clean energy science. The Institute is currently accepting applications for a RA positions to support its outreach and education programs in these areas.

The Clean Energy Institute Education and Training Fellow (ETF) works closely with the CEI Education Director to respond to public requests for outreach visits, arrange logistics, recruit volunteers from the CEI students, and attend events. The ETF also helps to develop outreach activities, displays, k-12 curriculum, and undergraduate course materials distributed by the CEI. This position is ideal for graduate students who are interested in careers such as teaching, outreach, learning resource development, and students wishing to build a portfolio of broader impact accomplishments and skills with communicating science to public. The time commitment for this position is 20 hours per week. Work schedule is flexible, though attendance at specific events during and outside of business hours and weekends is expected.

Read about CEI’s first ETF, Gabriella Tosado, and her outreach efforts!

Interested students from a CEI-related field or with science and engineering education backgrounds, are encouraged to prepare a CV, statement of interest, and reference letters. We recommend selecting a referee who is familiar with your educational outreach and experience with curriculum development and communicating science to the public.

Applications for 2017-2018 are now closed. The deadline for 2017-18 applications was in late August 2017. Students may apply for multiple quarters of RA support starting Fall 2017.  We anticipate 1 fellow for Fall and Winter, and 2 fellows for Spring.


“Providing clean energy to the inhabitants of our planet is a major challenge to future generations. The University of Washington is to be congratulated for establishing an Institute where faculty and students can work together to tackle the difficult global challenge of energy sustainability.”
– Mildred Dresselhaus, Professor of Physics and Electrical Engineering, Emerita and Institute Professor, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
“Energy competition is opening up in a variety of ways, the push for carbon control will continue, and the rate of technology advancement is exponential. All the things I’ve seen at the CEI are just perfect for the way we see things going in energy. You guys are at the cutting edge. We’re counting on you.”
– Ronald Litzinger, President, Edison Energy
Since its founding the Clean Energy Institute has contributed more than $1.1 million toward the education of 66 STEM scholars and recruitment of 12 students through our fellowship programs.