Lesson Plans

The Clean Energy Institute has developed detailed lesson plans for teaching Next Generation Science Standard aligned content at the middle school and high school level. Activities range from quick demos, to multi-day investigations, and supporting teaching units. The curriculum materials will encourage more awareness of the role of research in building a sustainable energy economy.

Elementary and Middle School Lessons

cover

SunDawg Bag

Solar Car Derby

Solar Car Derby

Build a model town that is sustainable.

Build a model town that is sustainable.

Aluminum Air Battery

Aluminum Air Battery

drawcircuit

Draw a Circuit with Graphite

Sequence 01

Solar Spinner

Solar Panel

Make a Solar Panel Workshop

A battery from household chemicals

A battery from household chemicals

Electrochemical Chameleon

Electro-chemical Chameleon

SolarModCar – 3D printed car

Rainbow Bookmarks

High school Lessons

Curriculum

Solar cell test lab

PS2600_inUse_ENLRG_168287

Absorption and Fluorescence with Spectrometer

Curriculum

Nanocrystalline-dye solar cell

A model luminescent solar concentrator.

A model luminescent solar concentrator.

Optimized demand to fit solar supply.

Modeling Solar Grid Integration with Math

cover

Radiometer Data Exploration

cover

Mathematics of Porous Materials

cover

Water Model for Electricity

cover

Electromagnets and Motor

Complete Lesson Plan List

Elementary
Draw a circuit https://www.cei.washington.edu/education/lessons/draw-a-circuit-fun-with-graphite/
Glowing Colors https://www.cei.washington.edu/education/lessons/glowing-colors/
Renewable City https://www.cei.washington.edu/education/lessons/sustainable-town-model/
Solar car derby https://www.cei.washington.edu/education/lessons/solar-car-derby/
Sun Dawg Bag https://www.cei.washington.edu/education/lessons/sun-dawg-solar-car-bags/
Thinfilm bookmarks https://www.cei.washington.edu/education/lessons/rainbow-bookmarks/
Middle School
Battery from household chemicals https://www.cei.washington.edu/education/lessons/a-battery-from-household-chemicals/
Bubble Raft Crystal Model https://www.cei.washington.edu/education/lessons/bubble-raft-crystal-model/
Electrochemical Chameleon https://www.cei.washington.edu/education/lessons/Electrochemical%20Chameleon/
Let’s Do Chemistry kits https://www.cei.washington.edu/education/lessons/lets-do-chemistry-from-acs/
Polymers https://www.cei.washington.edu/education/lessons/polymers-introduction/
Print a solar car https://www.cei.washington.edu/education/lessons/solarmodcar/
Solar Circuits https://www.cei.washington.edu/education/lessons/solar-circuits/
Solar panel workshop https://www.cei.washington.edu/education/lessons/solar-panel-workshop/
Solar Spinner https://www.cei.washington.edu/education/lessons/Solar%20Spinner
Water Electricity Model https://www.cei.washington.edu/education/lessons/Water%20Model%20for%20Electricity/
High School
Aluminum Air battery https://www.cei.washington.edu/education/lessons/aluminum-air-battery/
Fluorescence Spectrometer https://www.cei.washington.edu/education/lessons/absorption-and-fluoresence-with-usb-spectrometer/
Grid Integration https://www.cei.washington.edu/education/lessons/modeling-solar-grid-integration-with-math/
Luminescent Solar Concentrator https://www.cei.washington.edu/education/lessons/luminescent-solar-concentrator/
Mathematics of Porous Materials https://www.cei.washington.edu/education/lessons/Mathematics%20of%20Porous%20Materials/
Nanoimprint https://www.cei.washington.edu/education/lessons/nanoimprinting/
Phosphorescent Decay https://www.cei.washington.edu/education/lessons/phosphorescent-decay/
PV characterization https://www.cei.washington.edu/education/lessons/photovoltaic-characterization-lab/
Radiometer Data Analysis https://www.cei.washington.edu/education/lessons/Solar%20Energy%20Data%20Exploration/
Solar Tracker Challenge https://www.cei.washington.edu/education/lessons/solar-tracker-arduino-project/
TiO2 Berry solar cell https://www.cei.washington.edu/education/lessons/nanocrystalline-dye-solar-cell-lab/

Clean Energy Learning Links

CEI Clean Energy Explorer

NREL Renewable Energy Science Projects

NOVA Energy Lab

Energy Lab Overview

Science Buddies Energy and Power Science Fair Projects

Stabilization Wedges Game from Princeton

Electricity Production Calculator from USC

Science Enthusiasts from Materials Research Society

National Energy Education Development Project

Green Learning Canada

Become a School Partner

The CEI is committed to making deeper impacts in a small number of laboratory schools. The CEI provides loaner equipment and supplies to the lab schools while school help test curriculum materials. Schools establish an ongoing mentor relationship with a CEI fellow. These project based learning units can be integrated into physics, CTE and mathematics classrooms. Contact uwcei@uw.edu if you would like to explore becoming a CEI laboratory school.